French Secular Compositions of the 14th Century: Vol. I, Ascribed Compositions

  • Edited by Willi Apel
  • Edition of the Literary Texts by Samuel N. Rosenberg
  • (Series: Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae, 53 [3 volumes])
  • Dallas and Rome: American Institute of Musicology, 1970
  • lxxv + 230 pages
  • Paperback: ISBN-10 1595511474 (for 3-volume set)
  • Paperback: ISBN-13 978-1595511478 (for 3-volume set)

The three volumes of Willi Apel’s major work contain the entire repertory of 14th-century French secular polyphony, with only two exceptions: the works of Machaut and the compositions in the codex Torino. Vol. I presents 118 ascribed compositions.


  • Foreword
  • List of Compositions
    [The website of the American Institute of Musicology provides a listing of the compositions in this volume: ]
  • Index of Text Incipits
  • Introduction
    • A. General Outline
    • B. The Main Sources
    • C. The Composers
    • D. The Forms
    • E. The Notation
    • F. The Development of Style
    • G. Notes on Performances
    • H. Editorial Remarks
  • Bibliography
  • Abbreviations
  • Sources
  • Commentary
  • Guide to Pronunciation
  • Texts
  • Music